Small cast replica of the iconic Middleton Place House Museum.
History of the House Museum
The South Flanker, today's House Museum, was originally built in 1755 as gentlemen's guest quarters and together with the North Flanker - a library and conservatory - completed Henry Middleton's overall grand design. It is the only surviving portion of the three-building residential complex that once stood overlooking the Ashley River. The flankers, along with the main house, were burned by Union troops in February, 1865, just two months before the end of the Civil War. The South Flanker was the least damaged of the three buildings and was restored to provide family living quarters. By 1870 the Middletons returned to live again at Middleton Place and the South Flanker continued to serve subsequent generations until becoming a House Museum in 1975. Today it holds an extraordinary collection of original portraits, furniture, silver, china, documents and other objects that belonged to and were used by family members.
Measures approximately 3 in. tall x 5.5 in. wide x 2 in. deep
- Additional Information
Ticket ( No Shipping ) N/A